Project Runway

28 Oct

I don’t know how many of you watch Project Runway but I when I found out Anya Ayoung-Chee was a contestant I was glued to the screen every episode! I told myself the moment she lost I would be done watching. But she was never eliminated and kept creating beautiful piece and the kicker is she isn’t professionally trained in the art of creating garments. I love it.

Anya Ayoung-Chee was crowned as the ninth winner of Project Runway, (I screamed when Heidi Klum announced it, I’m sure all of Ostapenko heard me).

I love her story because she was Miss Trinidad and Tobago, born and raised in Trinidad and now here she is competing against trained designers. I’m sure that as a Caribbean woman she was met with a lot of adversity and many who said she couldn’t do it. But, relentless, she pressed on and became to victor. And rightfully so.

I remember reading this quote in the Huffington Post:

To be honest, I wasn’t really too conscious of the competition until towards the end where you see when I’m trying to make decisions on whether I should give fabric or not. Until that point I was just sort of enjoying the process all the way along. I just prefer things to be more collaborative in general, so maybe I’m just accustomed to that way of working.

[Project Runway] definitely showed me personally that there’s so much more to be gained from sharing … We all did that throughout the entire time. I thought it was so much more enjoyable and so much more came out of it for all of us. I guess there was a point toward the end when we all started to feel more conscious of wanting to win and that changed it a little bit, but it wasn’t quite as drastic as it seemed. It served me better just in terms of generally enjoying the process to be more open and more giving the entire time.

I think that Anya is a great designer and I would love to have a piece in my closet. Maybe she will pay Marymount a visit because I would love to honor her during Voyage to Utopia.

Fingers crossed.

Some pieces that I love:

Leave a Reply

