April Fools and Talented ______ (I was trying to rhyme with something… didn’t work out too well)

2 Apr

Yesterday was APRIL FOOLS day… which I never quite understood and now that I typed that I want to google what is actually is… please hold….

Ok, so the handy dandy “I’m Feeling Lucky” button took me to my favorite place, Wikipedia.

Wiki claims that,

April Fools’ Day is celebrated in different countries around the world on April 1 every year. Sometimes referred to as All Fools’ Day, April 1 is not a national holiday, but is widely recognized and celebrated as a day when many people play all kinds of jokes and foolishness. The day is marked by the commission of good-humoured or otherwise funny jokes, hoaxes, and other practical jokes of varying sophistication on friends, family members, teachers, neighbors, work associates, etc. The earliest recorded association between April 1 and foolishness can be found in Chaucer‘s Canterbury Tales (1392).

It also went into tedious history that seemed quite irrelevant but what I want to know is WHO’S IDEA WAS IT ANYWAY?

I digress. Aside from pranks and jokes (which I was fortunate that no one played any on me this year nor I in return) Marymount showcased numerous talent at “MU’s Got Talent” last night in the rec. gym in the Rose Bente Lee center. And, guess who hosted this fantastic event… yup, you guess it… your’s truly. But I didn’t do it alone. I had the help of Vice President of Enrollment Dr. Chris Domes. See, because at Marymount we like to have fun and frankly being behind a desk all day is LAAAAAAAAAAAAMMMMMMMMEEEEEEEEEEE! So, what do we do? We get our administrators and VP’s to come out and have fun with our students! Go us.

Now, I bet your all wondering, “Ashley, what was your talent?”. And that’s a great question. My talent last night was being able to change my outfit several times and be on cue for my next appearance. INTENSE, I know.

Garments courtesy of Jordana Taylor who also works in the admissions office. It originally started out as “here are some dresses, choose one to wear to host the show” but then it turned into “I like them all so why not wear them all”. =) I think this worked out very well and by the end of the night I could tell that people really enjoyed themselves and the students, faculty, and staff that performed did as well.

If you missed it I am truly sorry for you and I hope you can find clips on YouTube but even if that fails I encourage you to look forward to the show next year!

Check out some pictures I took before,during, and after the show:

 

Raina Dandy practicing on the Drums before the show

 

 

Brenda Reed practicing her rendition of RESPECT

Shannon Gough praciticing Defying Gravity... later she painted herself GREEN!

My opening outfit

My last outfit

 

I had a BLAST hosting this event with Dr. Domes and everyone worked sooooooooo hard to make this event a success. Next year maybe I’ll actually do something worthy of a talent show… Looks like I better start working on my vocals now.

Leave a Reply

