Eid al-Adha!!!

11 Nov

Eid al-Adha (Arabic: عيد الأضحى‎ ‘Īdu l-’Aḍḥā) or “Eid-u’z-Zuha” “Festival of Sacrifice” or “Greater Eid” is an important religious holiday celebrated by Muslims worldwide to commemorate the willingness of Abraham (Ibrahim) to sacrifice his son Ishmael (Isma’il) as an act of obedience to God, but instead was able to sacrifice a ram (by God’s command).[1] In traditional or agrarian settings, each family will sacrifice a sheep by slaughter, making it halal. The meat would then be divided into three equal parts to be distributed to others. The family retains one third of the share, another third is given to relatives, friends and neighbors, and the other third is given to the poor & needy.

Being that is this a Muslim holiday there will not be school from Nov. 11 to Nov. 20 so my friends and I have decided to take this opportunity to travel the region a bit. Some of my friends are going to India, Greece, Italy, London, and so on but I have decided to go to Israel/Palestine and Egypt.

Our itinerary is planned but we left many holes for change because we didn’t want to be tied to strictly to any plans. Our main goal is to see the sites, the land, the people, and enjoy ourselves and of course return safely.

I am most excited about Sandboarding in Egypt and of course seeing biblical sites with my own two eyes.

We’ve also befriended some great people that will be meeting us at the border and showing us Jerusalem and other cities as well as in Egypt. There is not doubt in my mind that this will be an adventure of a lifetime!

An overview of our plans go like this:

Nov.11 – head to the border closest to Jerusalem, get through the border (insha allah) Head straight to Jerusalem and waste no time checking out the sites!!!

From Nov. 12 to about the 14 or 15 we will spend out time traveling to nearby cities, i.e. Bethlehem, Nazareth, Tel Aviv, etc.

Our last stop will be the city of Eliat and from there we will travel into Egypt at the Taba border and into Sinai. I hope to climb Mount Sinai and then travel to Alexandria, Cairo of course, and then back to Sharm mesheik and Nuwieba where we will catch the Ferry boat that goes to Aqaba and then take a bus back to Amman.

But before the last part of the trip I desperately want to see the Temple of Hours in Edfu… although it is a 12 HOUR train ride from Cairo!!! But we shall see.

All in all I should be returning around Nov. 20 and then more festivities as I will be celebrating the Thanksgiving holidays with my friend who is coming to visit her family in Jordan. =)

I may not be connected to the world via internet often… TERRIBLE I KNOW, but I will keep a VERY detailed account of my journey in a notebook and try to update whenever possible!!!!

Well, guess this is ‘yelabye’ or ‘ma sellama’ for me huh!
Even though its today I still can’t believe I’m going into Israel/Palestine and then later Egypt… crazy!

My mom was confused and my other ‘close enough to be my mom’ yelled at me, and my ‘other other mom from the Admissions office’ yelled at me too. But I know the yelling is from a good place. No worries I will be safe and take every precaution I need to. But I guess it doesn’t help my case that my best friend here in Jordan, whom I met in September, and am attached to like glue, has a last name that may or may not get us stopped at the border. Haha way to go!

No worries!!!! =D

Byyyyyyyeeeeeeee for now. Update about my travels soon INSHA ALLAH

2 Responses to “Eid al-Adha!!!”

  1. Doralisa Pilarte November 11, 2010 at 9:08 am #

    Ashley:
    This sounds like a great itinerary. Whenever you can, please take p hotos of yourself with some iconic image in the background, or of yourself wearing something Marymount: a cap, a T-shirt, etc.
    Have fun and stay safe. And post your pics, so we can be oh-so-jealous! 🙂
    Doralisa

  2. Rebecca November 11, 2010 at 10:25 am #

    Yay!!! Have a great time!
    Note- the Center for Global Education has sent a student to Egypt for a whole semester and we have a Faculty-led program going to Israel/Palestine this upcomming summer… so, it’s really safe for travels! But, as in ANY place around the world- be aware of your surroundings, go with friends, use common sense and have FUN!

Leave a Reply

