1 Day to D Day…

11 Sep

Departure Day or “D Day” is tomorrow! TOMORROW!!!
I have finally finished packing and let me say that I am shocked that I fit everything into 1 suitcase, 1 carry on duffle, and 1 backpack. Now, I just hope that my bags aren’t overweight! Packing wasn’t actually as difficult as I thought it would be. The hardest part was simply STARTING. I think I stared into the dark abyss of my suitcase for at least 45 minutes trying to wrap my head around placing items inside. I kept thinking, “will I need this” or “what if something comes up and I need that”. It was all quite a dilemma but the end result was success.

The past months have been met with excitement and impatience and now that I am 24 hours away from boarding my plane I feel like I could very well pass out. I am eager to see new things and experience all kinds of sensations, smell the air, feel the wind, all the corny things you hear people say on the Discovery Travel channel when they venture to new places. Mostly though I want to visit numerous religious and historical sites, Mount Nebo being one. I want to walk in the footsteps of those that we only get to learn about in history books and on late night History channel shows.

Now, with excitement there are some apprehensions. Most of which though stem around questions like, “what will my family be like”, “what will my professors be like”, “will the work load be intense”, etc… Its unfortunate to not have answers to all of life’s many many questions but I have faith that CIEE and the Center for Global Education at MU have done their absolute best to ensure that this adventure be a safe and memorable one for me so no worries.

My friend asked my what I was looking forward to the most and I had to think about my response. After maybe 2 solid minutes I replied, “everything”. I can’t single anything out to stand out from the rest. The entire trip is an experience that I have been looking forward to for months. I have never been to Jordan or any country in the Middle East region for that matter so every aspect is going to be amazing. However, if I had to emphasize a specific area to look forward to I would say just meeting new people, hearing stories, and embracing the culture and the people. I have a huge problem with people who assume that all people of a race, creed, or religious belief are the same in every way. I want to be friend people and make life long connections. I want to learn from others and allow others to learn from me. That is what I look forward to the most.

I think I’m as ready as I’m going to be. I got my eyebrows threaded, which was an ABSOLUTE must, updated the software on my new computer, packed my clothes, shoes, and I had to pack my AKA Doll to accompany me on my flight so…its safe to say…I’m set.

I definitely thank Marymount’s Center for Global Education for providing me with such an awesome experience and trusting me to represent the university abroad. College is all about exploration and bridging gaps and I intend on doing just that.

Tomorrow I will board my plane, sit in my window seat, and watch as I leave behind friends, family, and everything that I know to be comfortable to embark on something bigger then me and learn new things about the region, people, culture, and of course myself.

One Response to “1 Day to D Day…”

  1. Monique September 13, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    Hey Soror Ashley!

    Are u there? are u still alive? are u having fun yet? did u give them there gifts?

    sisterly,
    Monique

Leave a Reply

